Boitumelo Vero Rikhotso

Destined for greatness!

This might be the end of my bad hair days…I hope :) April 11, 2017


My natural hair journey has been nothing short of dramatic. Often I watched different girls proudly showing off their crowns and wondered how in the world they got it right because I seemed to be on a collision course with my tresses. In the midst of an influx of YouTube videos, blogs, Facebook posts and magazine articles about natural hair tips, my own hair still eluded me. I had bought and tried so many different hair products, drank hair tablets, experimented with various moisturizing methods; LOC, LCO, OLOC and whatever else but no matter what I tried, I just couldn’t find my hair’s sweet spot. My hair was just dry full stop.

So in May 2016 when stress and bad henna treatments resulted in all my hair going down the drain, literally, I decided it was time for a hair detox. I was going to keep my hair short, brush cut for about a year, give away my cupboard-full of hair products, and only use what was left over. I then vowed not to spend another dime on a new product whether locally bought or imported. I was done with all the ‘miracle’ products craze. Gosh! There’s nothing natural about the prices of some of these products. Yo, hectic! There was one product though I was going to keep using especially for my hairline, the T444Z as I had seen great results from it.

Fast forward to April 2017, the detox has paid off. I have really enjoyed not worrying about length or what to do with my hair. Short hair is such bliss though. But, I’ve decided to give long hair another try. As I was only using what was left over from last year’s detox, I found the combination of these two products to be quite the thing which happened quite by accident. My hair loooooves these and for the first time, I know what moisturized natural hair actually feels like. Wow to the max!

Elvive Total Repair (5) Leave-in Conditioner
Much has been said about how natural haired people shouldn’t use products made for non-afro rocking folks. As for me and my afro, aka “Lush,” we love this leave-in. It is milky in consistency and sprays on with ease. I bought it in 2016 at Clicks or Foschini for about R70.

Aunt Jackie’s Curl la la Defining Curl Custard
This product is amazing. I love the smell and what it does for my hair. Absolutely fabulous dot com! I know it’s for curl definition but I use it as a moisturizer and I am happy. The custard has a smooth, wobbly, medium custard-like consistency and spreads very easily. I about R2 size amount since my hair is still short. I bought this product in 2016 at Clicks for about R60.

Consistency

Finally! Let’s hope the combo works even on longer hair as I begin the journey of growing my hair again.

Method:
After washing my hair, I allow it to dry a little bit to just damp. Then I spray a bit of the leave-in, rub it into the scalp and hair, then follow with custard. Each morning I spray the leave-in and then follow up custard – easy peasy!

Nutshell:
Those who haven’t found what their hair loves yet, don’t despair. Sometimes all it takes is a mix up of the products you currently have.

 

2 Responses to “This might be the end of my bad hair days…I hope :)”

  1. Mmabatho Says:

    Am very impressed with the blog and the info you shared. I was a victim of Henna dyes and shampoos. Had bald spots from it. My hair though is afro from blow out. So am kinda transitioning. I will try the leave in conditioner to see. I once bought that aunty jackie product but was not sure how I should use it. Thank you.

    • So sorry to hear about the bald spots. I’ve had those too and I had to cut my hair to start over. So as you grow your hair you’ll have to trim off the damaged parts as they’ll affect the rest of the strand. Keeping your hair moisturized will be key. So be patient and keep at it. You’ll learn what your hair loves with trial and error unfortunately 😊. Enjoy the journey!


Leave a Reply

